Being a mother of five — two boys, one girl, (pictured above) and two pups — I wanted to write something fitting for Mother’s Day, but nothing like your typical “why I love being a mom, yada yada yada” gabfest.

I am the type of mother who tries to lead by example. I encourage my children to be themselves – whoever that may be. I have no specific set agendas of how things must go or be for them. I do want them to grow into loving, kind, compassionate, caring, responsible human beings that will do their personal best to make our world a better place.

I am spiritual in nature, and have strived to emit those vibes since the day they were born. They’ve heard me speak about chakras, energy, and auras from the moment they opened their little eyes into the world.

I try to make connections for them, between my beliefs and their everyday lives. I want them to understand that everything we do, every step we take is connected; that our outside is connected to our inside. Nothing is separate. Everything is one. We are one.

The Sanskrit word Chakra literally translates to wheel or disk. In yoga, meditation, and Ayurveda, this term refers to wheels of energy throughout the body. There are seven main chakras, which align the spine, starting from the base of the spine through to the crown of the head. To visualize a chakra in the body, imagine a swirling wheel of energy where matter and consciousness meet. This invisible energy, called Prana, is vital life force, which keeps us vibrant, healthy, and alive.

I see a deep connection between our chakras and raising healthy, happy children and believe it’s a goal every parent should have. So, in honor of Mother’s Day, I came up with a way of relating each of the seven chakras to my children that other mothers may be able to borrow from. Here they are:

  1. The Muladhara , our Root Chakra: The chakra of stability, security, basic needs; it’s formed by the first three vertebraes, the bladder and the colon. To my children: Get grounded. Walk barefoot, feel the earth and all of it’s sensations beneath your feet. Connect to our great Mother, let her energy flow through you. Only then will you understand what the word “oneness” means.
  2. The Svadhisthana, our Sacral Chakra: The chakra of sexuality and creativity; located above the pubic bone, below the navel. To my children: Get in touch with your feminine energy. Be creative, nurturing, calm, patient, compassionate, loving.  
  3. The Manipura, our Solar Plexus Chakra: From our navel to our breastbone; this is the chakra of our wisdom and personal power. To my children: Do not give anyone the power to make you feel inferior/not worthy. Be confident, the magic is within you, not somewhere else.
  4. The Anahata, our Heart Chakra: Located right in the middle of the seven chakras, the heart chakra unites the lower (chakras of matter), with the upper chakras (of spirit); this is our chakra of love, healing & connectivity. To my children: So simple – BE love, and everything else will follow.
  5. The Vishuddha, our Throat Chakra: Located in the area of the throat, is our chakra of communication. To my children: Speak your truth bravely, without fear.
  6. The Anja, our Third Eye Chakra: Located in the middle of our eyebrows, it’s our sense or awareness and our intuition. To my children: Open your mind, follow your intuition, things are not always as they seem, see beyond the illusion.
  7. The Sahaswara, our Crown Chakra: On the crown of our head, where we make the spiritual connection to our higher self. To my children: Follow your happiness, follow your heart, follow what brings you joy, follow your bliss. That is your calling, and how you will make a difference.

“When I was five years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down “happy”. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them, they didn’t understand life” ~ John Lennon

— Narima


Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Subscribe To Our Newsletter

Join our mailing list to receive the latest news and updates from our team.

You have Successfully Subscribed!

Pin It on Pinterest